Coolest Fictional Libraries

I have always loved libraries – right from being a small child. To me, they were magical places where you could go on a real adventure. So, what’s better than doing a list of great libraries I’ve visited? Doing a list of great fictional libraries of course – ones which appeared in books I’ve seen or films I’ve watched. I’d happily have any of these installed in my mansion, should I ever chance to win the lottery or similar. Well, I can dream can’t I?

Coolest Libraries in Works of Fiction

These are in alphabetical order. Because I’m that much of a nerd.

  • The Benedictine Monastery library – the Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco
  • The Chester’s Theological Training College Library – the Box of Delights – by John Masefield (TV version)
  • The Earl of Drumer’s Library – in House of Hell – Steve Jackson
  • The Gormenghast Castle library – Mervyn Peake
  • The Hogwarts School Library – JK Rowling
  • The Library – Dr Who (new series)
  • The Library of Babel – Jorge Borges
  • The Miskatonic University Library including the ‘Necronomicon’ – HP Lovecraft
  • The Nautilus Library of Captain Nemo – Jules Verne
  • The Shadow Gallery Library in V For Vendetta – Alan Moore
  • The Shermer High School Library from The Breakfast Club – John Hughes
  • The Sunnydale High School Library – Joss Wheadon
  • The Unseen University Library from the Discworld series – Terry Pratchett

Honorable Mentions

  • Mr Coriander’s bookshop from Neverending Story
  • The Fortress of Solitude / The Batcave from the Superman / Batman comics (not really libraries but full of information and cool stuff so they deserve a mention)
Leave a Reply

