What’s This Blog About Anyway? (or FAQ if you’re in the cool-kids club)

A Listful of Horrors? What kind of a stupid name for a blog is that?

Well, it’s a play on ‘A Fistful of Dollars’, obviously. Not that I’m a huge western fan, but I am a massive horror fan. And I like making lists. So it kinda fits. Leave me alone, I haven’t had enough coffee to be witty and amusing yet.

So what do / will you write about?

All kinds of stuff. There will obviously be themed-lists, some reviews, and general ramblings about the things which interest me. Books, films, music, depression and anxiety, creative stuff, atheism, aardvarks… Okay, maybe not aardvarks. I also write short stories and poems so there will be some of those, too.

Why did you start writing this blog in the first place?

I’d been meaning to do it for ages. I enjoy reading other people’s blogs so I just looked at what I enjoyed as a reader and thought I’d have a go myself, simple as that.

How often will you update it?

As and when I feel like it.

Why don’t you just stick to one subject and keep it simple?

Because I’ve got lots of ideas bouncing around my little bonce and I can’t be arsed having multiple blogs, that’s why.

What’s with the love for lists?

I think a lot of people secretly love ranking things (books, movies, video games or whatever) and looking to see how their lists stack up against other people’s. I’ve always been a list-maker and I make no apologies for it. Although I only do it for stuff which interests me which is why my shopping tends to be an exercise in chaos.

Why the hell should I care about your opinions?

I’m not asking you to. The idea of some of the lists is to share some of the things I’ve liked and found interesting, same with the reviews. As for the other posts youcan take from them whatever you like.

Okay – what’s the best thing you’ve ever read?

Go look at my favourite books list. Off the top of my head, ‘Flowers For Algernon’ is in my top two or three of all time.

And the worst?

Bloody hell, I don’t know. I remember having to read something for my degree once about the ‘polysemic interpolation of texts.’ That was pretty awful. If we’re talking classics, ‘The Castle of Otranto’ is among the dreariest things I’ve ever completed. 

How about the best / worst thing you’ve ever seen / heard?

Again, see the favourite films / music list. But the quick answer would be (in the order asked), Halloween (original) and Blade Runner / The Hillside Cannibals / Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon / Anything by Dizzee Rascal. Seriously, go look at the lists 🙂 

Do you like cheesecake?

Yes, unfortunately.

Do you seriously imagine your blog is going to make you rich and famous?

But of course 🙂

Will you allow any guest posts?

I’ve no plans to but you never know.

Who would win in a fight between Superman and Batman?

My money’s on Batman but that’s simply because I think he’s cooler. Not that my reasoning is flawed or superficial or anything.

What’s the meaning of life?

Chocolate. Ha, bet you thought I’d say 42.

Old or new Dr Who?

Old.

I love your blog!

That’s not a question, but cheers!

I hate your blog!

Cheers!

Isn’t it a bit weird writing questions would-be visitors could ask in advance and then answering them yourself?

Yes. Yes it is.

Leave a Reply

