Quantum Changes – 100 Words

I’m in the classroom and I’m 10.

Again.

Any minute now he’ll catch me talking and I’ll be sent to stand in the corner. They’ll all snigger and my beetroot-red face will be invisible against the wall.
Except he doesn’t. I shut up just in time. He carries on his dreary teaching. I remain unpunished.

The bell goes. We all file out.
And I realise if I’d come a few seconds later I’d be in the corner, shamed, embarrassed.

But it would not have changed the person I am.
The thought is joyous – liberating.
The leap happens. And I’m someone else. 

A tribute this time to Quantum Leap drawing on a vivid early childhood experience which I plan to write about some day

Leave a Reply

