Mantra

If I had a superhero base, like Batman or Superman I’d have some words engraved on a rock near the entrance.

I wouldn’t have a statue of my Kryptonian parents.

I wouldn’t have reminders of my Earthly parents gunned down in Gotham City.

Both of these things are worthy but they’re still fictional – as is my base of operations.

But in this world there would be a simple stone, carved with a simple mantra.

And it would say: ‘Recovery is possible.’

Recovery is possible.

I have to believe this.

But more than that.

I choose to believe this.

It’s a choice I hope I’ll always take.

Leave a Reply

