Poem – Gin in Teacup

You didn’t agree with me, 

So I sat away from you at the meeting,

Thirty-something going on three, 

You’re not good enough to sit with me,

I complain about my crow’s feet, 

My black-nyloned legs and witch’s feet, 

‘Put away your pennies’ 

That’s what you said to me

Humiliatingly, 

Caring nothing for how it made me feel, 

There are ways to think and ways to be a stink,

To the capital you retreat, 

Gin in your cup of tea, 

Your conscience clear your mind is empty

All quite empty 

Leave a Reply

